• The awards celebrate the contributions of the 450,000 volunteers who give their time to Irish sport every year. This equates to approximately 37.3 million hours of volunteering across Ireland’s 13,000 registered sports clubs and associations.
  • The deadline for nominations is Sunday October 17th
  • Judges include Former GAA Director General, Mr Páraic Duffy as awards Chairperson, sports journalist and broadcaster Marie Crowe and CEO of Gaisce, Yvonne Mckenna.

They are joined by

  • Clare McGrath, FIS Chairperson
  • Richie Gernon, EBS
  • Darren Duignan EBS
  • Niamh Daffy, CEO CARA
  • Roddy Guiney, Chairperson of WHPR and former FIS Chairperson
  • Fiona Chambers, Head of the School of Education; a Senior Lecturer in PE and Sport Pedagogy at University College Cork
  • Benny Cullen, Sport Ireland
  • Paul Collins Volunteer Ireland
  • Georgina Drumm, Former President Athletics Ireland

Please see here for further information about our 2021 judges – http://volunteersinsport.ie/news/2021/10/5/judging-panel-for-upcoming-2021-volunteer-in-sport-awards-announced

The deadline for nominations is Sunday October 17th

The Volunteer in Sport Awards, hosted by the Federation of Irish Sport, in partnership with EBS, will see volunteers from all 32 counties recognised for their outstanding contributions to sport in their county.  The Awards will also select a national ‘Team of Volunteers’ award and a ‘Lifetime’ award to honour a volunteer who has consistently given of their time for a sport, team or event over many years.

Deadline for nominations fast approaching and members of the public are invited to nominate an individual whose contributions to sport has made a real difference to their community, club, or county.  Nominations can be made by individuals, clubs, or sports associations via an online application form at http://www.volunteersinsport.com/

Previous Lifetime Award winners

Previous Lifetime Award winners include, Liam Sheedy, former player and current Tipperary All Ireland Champion Hurling Manager, Darren O’Neill, youth coach and Olympic Boxer and Peggy Mason who has been a Special Olympics Volunteer since 1985 and more recently in 2021 Anne McHale for her contribution to Basketball in Mayo.


Speaking about the announcement, Mary O’Connor, CEO of the Federation of Irish Sport said;

“We are delighted to confirm our judging panel for the 2021 Volunteer in Sport Awards.  Our judges are drawn from a diverse breadth of backgrounds including volunteerism, sports administration and the not-for-profit sector amongst others.  Their different backgrounds and expertise are a perfect reflection of the very diverse make-up of our sporting community and the many roles it fulfils in Irish society.  All have witnessed the critical role played by volunteers in enabling Irish grassroots sport to take place each week and can speak to the many benefits they bring to communities up and down the country.

Also commenting, Páraic Duffy, former GAA Director General said:

“I am pleased to be involved in this special event that is the 2021 Volunteer in Sport Awards.  I have been involved in volunteer sports organisations all my life and have seen first-hand how indispensable these volunteers are to their communities and their value has even been more evident during the challenges of covid19. The Awards give us the opportunity to celebrate their contributions and highlight the integral role they play in Irish sport and wider society.”