Volleyball Ireland has announced an 11 Woman squad to compete in the Confederation de Europeene Volleyball (CEV) Small Countries Zone Championships in Luxembourg next week.


The squad features no less than six players from UCD Volleyball Club, as well as representatives from Galway, Naas, Santry and University College Cork – as well as 16 year old Libero Siofra Lawlor of RSR Walfer Luxembourg, and formerly of Newbridge Volleyball Club in Kildare.


Head Coach Fabio Tamborinni said, “The girls have been working phenomenally hard the last few months preparing for the challenge. We are in good shape to compete with the best emerging nations in Europe.”


The Tournament features 6 teams (Ireland, Faroe Islands, Scotland, Northern Ireland, Greenland and hosts Luxembourg), with two groups of three meaning tough games on Day one against Scotland and favourites Faroe Islands. Team Captain and Galway Wing Olivia Molloy added, “We have the tough side of the draw but hopefully that will sharpen us up. We have prepared really well and we can’t wait to represent our Country on the International stage.”


As well as training hard for the three day tournament, the squad have been fundraising to cover the costs of the €8,000 trip. “It is the nature of representing Ireland in the more niche sports, we are still looking for a team sponsor who can pick up a bargain deal and we’ve set up a crowdfunding page with Irish company Pledgesports – we’d really like to thank the public for their support so far.”


If any companies would like to sponsor the team, please contact General Manager of Volleyball Ireland, Gary Stewart (gm@volleyballireland.com).

The crowdfunding page is available at https://www.pledgesports.org/projects/volleyball-european-challenge/


The squad in full;

Regina Halpin, UCD

Olivia Molloy, Galway

Eimear O’Neill, UCD

Alex Graves, UCD

Emily Frazell, UCD

Fiona Lamont, UCD

Aoibhin Cassidy, Naas

Roisin Roantree, Craigavon Aztecs

Carly Donaghy, Santry

Marie-Claire Sobogal, UCD

Siofra Lawlor, RSR Walfer (Luxembourg)


Head Coach: Fabio Tamborrini

Assistant Coach: Jennifer Moret

Team Manager: Gary Stewart

Referee: Vinnie Dos Santos (Dublin VC)