The new Basketball season was launched in Dublin yesterday. Participation across the country has now risen to 49 teams across four divisions, a rise from 42 that took part last year.

Reigning Hula Hoops National Cup Champions Templeogue head five teams from Dublin in the top flight of the Men’s Super League. Neptune and UCC Demons represent Cork with Maree and Moycullen flying the flag for Galway, Garvey’s Tralee Warriors and Keane’s SuperValu Killorglin from Kerry and Belfast Star making up the twelve.

There is a wider geographic spread in the Women’s Super League with three teams from Cork, three from Dublin and one each from Waterford, Carlow, Galway and Kilkenny.

“The positive momentum of Irish basketball continues with our National League membership up to 49 teams and the geographical spread of the clubs improving all the time,” said Basketball Ireland Secretary General Bernard O’Byrne.

“We’re really looking forward to another great season across all of our competitions.”

“Hula Hoops is delighted to be entering into a new phase of our sponsorship of the Hula Hoops National Cup,” added Ian O’Rourke, Brand Activation Manager, Largo Foods.

“The competition has increased by seven teams since last year’s Cup. This is an example of the growing participation in Irish basketball and the Hula Hoops National Cup itself.”

“Hula Hoops will be providing coverage of the National Cup throughout the year, culminating in the finals weekend at the end of January. There’s huge excitement around this year’s competition and there are some very tasty draws in store for fans.”